Things to Do List

Good Lord, this blog sounds so stiff! Anyway, let me get a real update going. This semester is pretty heavy compared to last semester. I’m taking Advanced Architectural Graphics and a Textiles class. I panicked a little when I heard the woes of the AAG students from last semester, but through talking to them I learned that it’s not so bad if you manage your time well and ask questions (no matter how stupid you think they are). Textiles is a whole other story. We have a notebook that is due in about, oh, 30 days. I’ve been working on gathering the materials since the start of class, but the next phase should be preparing the actual notebook and in two weeks, I should be putting it together. I still don’t have all of my materials, though. So I’ll have to simultaneously work on the notebook and gathering the materials over the next week.

In other big news, I will (cross-fingers) be going across the pond to Italy in May for a three-week study trip – Art History and Rendering. I cannot wait!! The last time I was in Europe was when I was 15 – it was so much fun being in a new environment! I’m glad now that I’ll be there for 3 weeks so I can really soak up the history and the culture. My to do list includes sending in my passport application tomorrow and planning the financial side of the trip (including having bills paid for one month).

Overall, I’m really excited about this whole journey. It’s making me think more about what type of company I’d like to work for in the future. Although I do have an audiovisual background, I think I’ll take the advice of a recent graduate of my program and stick to the Interior Design slant.

Upcoming ID Events:

ASID
Celebrating the Big Easy
Thursday, March 16, 2006
6:30 pm – 8:30 pm Habitat for Humanity ReStore
7770G Richmond Highway Alexandria, VA 22306
Washington-based photographer, Gene Byron, has photographed New Orleans extensively. His collection of New Orleans black and white and color photos capture the soul of the “Big Easy” as well as its unique architecture and way of life. Framed and unframed photos will be on display and available for sale. A portion of the proceeds will benefit Habitat for Humanity of Northern Virginia’s Rebuilding Biloxi Partnership.
There is no charge for admission. Refreshments will be served.
RSVP by March 10 to Habitat for Humanity: 703 521-9890 Ext. 105.

IIDA
No Local Events, but the DC Chapter recieved the 2005 Potomac Award from ASID. See DesignMatters for details. (Oh, I’m in this months welcome section – yay!)

IDSA
Cityscapes Revealed: Highlights from the Collection
December 3, 2005 / Long term
This first-ever retrospective exhibition of the National Building Museum’s unique collection explores quintessentially American, 20th-century buildings from center-city mansions to main street storefronts and sleek downtown skyscrapers. Anchored by a series of large architectural elements, this walking tour of the cityscape is complemented by exquisitely detailed drawings; rare, early-20th-century photographs; and smaller-scale fragments from National Historic Landmarks—including the former U.S. Pension Building, the Museum’s extraordinary home.

http://www.nbm.org/Exhibits/current/cityscapes.html

Leave a Reply

