PodCamp DC & Church Podcasting

Through a local meetup group, I happened to find out about PodCamp – a group of bloggers, podcasters and other new media enthusiasts who come together in unlikely places to share and exchange their knowledge. I had the extreme fortune of attending the DC event this weekend and was blown away!

http://podcamp.pbwiki.com/

It was held at the Art Institute in Rosslyn, VA. Everyone there was SO willing to share their knowledge and expertise! I got a few tips and tricks on how to get a podcast going, met up with a few other folks who were also interested in new media for work and personal interests, and had a great presentation from a clearspring speaker – Justin Thorp, on sharing video/content across platforms (check his blog: Oatmeal Stout – http://drinkingoatmealstout.com/) Gotta love those widgets!

On top of all this, I’ve been inspired (and hopefully have a willing co-“victim”) to bring podcasting to my church – it’s been in the back of my head for awhile and i had planned it with one of the deacons until he retired and moved. Now, I want to get it going again…I think having downloads (and even charging per download) would help connect my church to the young adult community and have a revenue source for the church…

I had a great time – I can’t wait for the next DC event…I’ll def make sure to bring my laptop when I do!

2 thoughts on “PodCamp DC & Church Podcasting

  1. Thanks Justin, your talk was really good, especially hearing the discussions that it fostered. I got excited about possible solutions for work and personal/church projects, so I apologize for not introducing myself as we were letting out – that was so rude of me! (but so cool of you to follow up!)
    And I did later realize (after all that thinking died down) that I forgot to ask you a question about something you’d mentioned – a new media & government conference you’d been a part of? I wanted to hear more about that. Again, my profuse apologies and praises – did learn a lot at PodCamp and have recommended it to several friends and co-workers.
    Thanks for the link too – I promise next time to say thank you in person. 🙂

Leave a Reply

