If the shoe fits

This morning, I was going through my usual routine of trying to watch Saved By the Bell and get ready for work at the same time. Saved By the Bell won out for a few minutes. In the episode, Zack played Prince Charming and his girlfriend’s little sister daydreamed of being his Cinderella. The rap montage was cheesy, but in the end, Prince Charming found the girl who fit the shoe.

All of a sudden I was hit with the realization: Prince Charming didn’t care about what his dream woman looked like or came from…as long as Cinderella fit the shoe. It’s all about the shoe!

Let me explain, because I know that sounds kinda crazy. I’m of a certain age where more and more of my friends are getting married, having kids, yadda, yadda, yadda. I’m always AMAZED when this process unfolds…one day, the friend is single and the next, they are wearing this new shoe. In the strange, wonderful way that relationships and people work, a guy who knows what he wants and needs (ie, the shoe) is able to easily identify the woman with whom he wants to spend the rest of his life.

I have a backwards way of looking at things…I’m a very curious person. Being single doesn’t escape that quirk. My friends are always saying “Your perspective is wrong!” Maybe this is one of those times. Anyway, my thought immediately gave ownership of the “shoe” concept to the guy and I wondered if it worked in the same way that the story unfolded. I mean, the shoe originally belonged to Cinderella, but she lost it while leaving the ball.

So, at some point in the dance of the relationship, the lost shoe represented a vulnerability. A clue into who the woman really was…something that was easily picked up by the right man, and reapplied until the shoe and it’s rightful owner were reunited.

Granted, there are a great number of people who are giving and wearing wrong shoes…some people trying to make things fit and not seeing/feeling the hammertime going on in the shoes.

But at the end of the day, and this long, confusing and possibly over-analytical post, if the shoe fits…there must be a Prince Charming and a Cinderella to play out the story. And also, know your shoe size.

Leave a Reply

