NaNoWriMo

Video courtesy italktosnakes via Youtube.com

It’s November and National Novel Writing Month has begun! I tried NaNoWriMo years ago, but, admittedly got intimidated by the process. Usually my writing was always based on something real – features done on person or a place in the community. But to actually write something out of the wild blue yonder of my own imagination? FEAR! (Yes, fear…fear of judgement/rejection/success…all of it) But I’m trying it again…this time fueled by the need to heal. To break out. To celebrate my ‘Me’-ness.

Or just to write a whole bunch of words that make sense to me, but not to you. Who knows.

This reminds me of a book I read by a young law school student back in 2000. He was the friend of a guy I was dating at the time and needed help selling and distributing the book. I was excited to help out a young author in anyway I could…but damn if I couldn’t understand a word of what the book was about. To this day, I remember his book and one other mostly because they were so unreadable to me. Terrible reads. But by God do I hope to even get to the place where he got: coming up with an idea, writing it and hashing it out, then getting it printed and distributed. That’s a tough process.

Let’s go.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you’re giving it a go. This is my third year doing NaNo, and I warn you, it gets addictive. Nothing I’ve written so far is even ready for revision (or really finished…although I have “won” every year so far), much less eventual publication, but I don’t even know if I want to go that route. Just producing such a quantity of writing that I am generally proud of (real characters! a sort of plot, with conflicts and resolutions and everything!) feels fantastic. Even if nobody ever reads it.

    NaNoWriMo is a fantastic creative exercise, even if you don’t have dreams of being published. Good luck!

  2. Yay, you’re doing it! That’s the hardest part. It can be anything you want. It can change every day. It can morph. It’s about the journey. Getting there is half the fun, right? 🙂

  3. Huge Yay! I’m trying to let go of trying to be right so that I can write! lol – it’s already getting uncomfortable, but it feels so daring! Thanks Valerie (I have yet to meet you!!) and Holly! I’m ‘aishajcreative’ on the NaNoWriMo site, but I’ll probably be doing most of my updating here anyway. Yay!

Leave a Reply

