Change in focus

Actually, my focus has gotten a little sharper in the last few weeks. Being a solo/freelance anything is a pretty daunting thought for most people, but many of my endeavors have been that way – a one-woman push behind getting x, y or z done (with the twisting of a few arms here and there, or if a smile and a “Please??” will work I’ll do that, too). Because *so much* of my work life is “solo”, I started to find that I missed intelligent conversation. I missed learning through listening, connecting and sharing.

“Wisdom is knowing what to do next, skill is knowing how to do it, and virtue is doing it.” -David Starr Jordan

Earlier this evening, I sat at my computer reading about a topic that had recently been on my mind (ethics in multimedia and digital journalism), but because no one was around that cared as much about it as I did, I didn’t talk about it. But in the stillness that followed, a voice whispered “You can do it. Do it.” It was *my* voice that whispered.

Wisdom = Creating a deeper conversation about the things that need to be learned/talked about/shared.

Skill = Writing, video, photo, audio

Virtue = Starts now. and over and over and over again.

One thought on “Change in focus

  1. “I sat at my computer reading about a topic that had recently been on my mind (ethics in multimedia and digital journalism), but because no one was around that cared as much about it as I did, I didn’t talk about it.” Welcome to everyday of my life! I haven’t had too much intellectual stimulation since I left college and sad to say I sure haven’t had it among my African American peers out here in the world :-/ (present company excluded of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

