Multimedia Storytelling

Click to watch "The Amazing Amy"

Yesterday, I went down to the LOOK3 Festival of the Photograph to attend a Mediastorm Multimedia Overview Workshop. If you don’t know about Mediastorm, you should check them out – they have revealed the voice of so many people and topics that we often overlook.

I’ve been following the movement of multimedia storytelling and journalism over the past two years and this is exactly the type of production I’ve wanted to do for a long time. As a freelance feature writer, I was looking for ways to allow the interesting people I met to come alive for the reader. I mean, I could do so much with words, but sometimes just sitting and listening, then letting the story organically develop is the best way to go.

Basically, I want to produce something that has longer lasting impact, something that is not deceitful to the viewer and something that extends beyond the reach of TV News capability. Now, I have the tools and knowledge to start the practice. Look for an update in Jordan Multimedia Group soon.

***ETA: While watching “The Amazing Amy” I had one of those moments where I wanted to just reach through the screen and touch her or give her a hug just to say “You are not alone”.

Leave a Reply

